Musical Crowd

Music has a certain…something…that reaches into the human heart and brings out our souls.

Music has been a large part of my life since day one. My mother takes time to write little lullabies for each of her children shortly after their births. My father would play music on his record player for us while Mom would sing or hum us to sleep.

This is on my mind for one reason. My niece has taken to listening to her iPod (it’s really her mom’s) on a little speaker plug-in that she got for Christmas last year. One of the songs happened to catch my attention for a bit and I couldn’t help but listen to it even though I had work I was supposed to be doing on the other end of the house.

Sometimes songs that I’ve known since I was a pre-teen sneak up on me with a pow! right to my heart.

You are the one who keeps your dream alive
And you are the one who feels the rhythm deep inside
Do you ever wonder if can make you fly?
But you will never know, if you don’t really try.
 
There’s so many fast frames
Quick cuts and a million stars
 
Can make you wonder
Can make you dream ahead from the start
When you know your heart and follow your own destiny
 
Don’t get lost in the crowd
Be the one to be strong and turn heads around
Even from dark to light
You are the spark
 
You have the fire
You are the heart
New be a believer
Don’t get lost in the crowd
 
Look around you,  you may not be
The latest fashion or in a magazine
Or under high profiles but you will be
A sweet inspiration if you got your own style
 
There’s so many fast frames
Quick cuts and a million stars
 
Pulling you away from what you really love
If you sing your own song straight from your heart
You’ll find yourself rising above
 
Don’t get lost in the crowd
Be the one to be strong and turn heads around
Even from dark to light
You have the spark
 
You have the fire
You are the heart
now be a believer
Don’t get lost in the crowd
 
‘Cause we live in a world of so many choices
It’s hard to find our own voices
And keep going on from day to day
So get with the earth and get with the sky
Get with the inside
 
Don’t get lost in the crowd
Be the one to be strong and turn heads around
Even from dark to light
You have the spark and the fire
 
You are the heart
Now be a believer
Don’t get lost in the crowd
 
–From Don’t Get Lost in the Crowd by Ashley Ballard
About martha0stout

I like to read and write and hang out with my family and friends. I currently live on a farm and all that such a living entails.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Musical Crowd

  1. I really think the lullabies are incredibly wonderful. I must think of one for Connor. It would be a lovely tradition!

    Like

Leave a Reply

