Not Her Anymore

He travels the fastest that travels alone. –Rudyard Kipling

She wasn’t Star anymore, hadn’t been called by that name since she’d left her Queen and her home.

(Sometimes it felt like she hadn’t really been Star since Comet had left, but there were years between her sister’s departure and her own so it couldn’t be that, surely.)

She was tired, but not physically. Her Queen had made certain that she would never have those kinds of problems once more and she very carefully didn’t think of the tiny piece of Solaris’s own personal Crystal hidden within the cracked cavity of the shared Crystal of the Star and Comet Guardians. So long as she was able to have even a smidgen of light reflect nearby, she’d be full of energy and not tire.

It was her mind that was tired.

She’d been on this journey for so long and been so very alone throughout it all.

But she wasn’t going to turn back. Hadn’t turned back during all the times it had been offered and though she knew that many would never begrudge her taking a companion or even turning back entirely after doing this, hunting this, for so long she would never forgive herself.

“I travel fastest when I don’t have to worry about anything but my task. The last time I traveled with another, it only brought pain and sorrow. I will not make that mistake again.”

The woman clad in crimson closed her eyes for a split second before leaping away, eyes now open and continuing her journey.

The smoking ruins of the town below continued to smolder in the light breeze behind her.


Inspired by today’s prompt from Light and Shade Challenge and now that I’ve remembered to check, I have missed the word limit part of the challenge. Again.

I do that a lot, don’t I?

About martha0stout

I like to read and write and hang out with my family and friends. I currently live on a farm and all that such a living entails.
This entry was posted in Former Guardian, Writing Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not Her Anymore

  1. joetwo says:

    When you have a story to write you have a story. I did that a few times with Trifecta.

    Like

Leave a Reply

