WARNING: Arrogance Ahead

Against stupidity the gods themselves contend in vain. –Friedrich Schiller

So you think you know more than me?
There’s no way that can be true.
Unless you have managed to learn and
Partake of the humility fruit.
It’s nectar is sweet as the morning dew.
Don’t forget that arrogance can regrow, so
It behooves you to work to be humble.
There is never a cure for this disease
Yet people insist this is not so.
 

Little thing inspired by yesterday’s prompt from the Light and Shade Challenge.

About martha0stout

I like to read and write and hang out with my family and friends. I currently live on a farm and all that such a living entails.
This entry was posted in Life, Writing Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to WARNING: Arrogance Ahead

  1. We certainly could use a good dose of humility today couldn’t we with all that is going on in the world. Great acrostic, I like it a lot.

    Like

  2. joetwo says:

    True enough! It is the insistence that it is so that does the real damage.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. hudaxabdi says:

    I love this, so powerful, truly speaks volumes to me, I’d love if you could check out my blog and let me know what you think 🙂 ✨

    Like

  4. Tara R. says:

    For some arrogance is a terminal disease. A very creative, and honest poem.

    Like

Leave a Reply

