Missing…Alone

You can’t miss what you never had.

This wasn’t, strictly speaking, true. You could miss something that you’ve never had. 

He pulled on his gloves and reached for the top hat, making certain that it was on properly and wouldn’t come loose even when he should step up into the waiting carriage by the door.

“You should have done this years ago!”

“I know! But finding the right time was simply exhausting. We were having too much fun just being in love!”

His thoughts strayed back to the lovely little thing that had been on his brother’s arm, her veil still cascading down her back and only adding a delightful fog to her ebony hair.

It’s perfectly possible to miss something you’ve never had, especially if you can still look at it from the outside so often.

The carriage drove past a lamppost and he looked out at it, feeling a kinship with the loneliest thing on the planet.


This little snippet was inspired by the FreeWriteFriday prompt from this last Friday.

About martha0stout

I like to read and write and hang out with my family and friends. I currently live on a farm and all that such a living entails.
This entry was posted in Writing Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Missing…Alone

  1. joetwo says:

    That last line….. Excellent!

    Like

  2. Suzanne says:

    That’s an interesting idea – missing something you’ve never had. I think it is very possible – 🙂

    Like

  3. I wish I had Jesse’s girl! This post reminded me of that song.

    Like

  4. You did wonderfully with this prompt…I’ve not been to FWF for a while…I like the mystery of lamp post and fog…it does bring us back to years ago. Bravo, kiddo:)

    Like

  5. ~ Sadie ~ says:

    Great piece! You know I really liked this 🙂 AND I think one can miss something they never had . . . IMHO.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

