I Didn’t Even Know Him That Well

How can I look back without remembering that day?
Of when you sat back to back and helped me on my way?
Please, I pray that you have found peace,
Even now, I wonder, do you look down on our lease…
 
So I must go on and never forget,
Quietly in my heart, the change that you brought, yet
Until I can see your smiling face
And know that you have once more found your place.
Don’t give up, because you are not alone, lost in space.
 

This is dedicated to those who died in my high school senior year. I was thinking over it and I was reminded of one of the boys who committed suicide that year. He helped me during a time of need when I didn’t even know who he was. I still didn’t really know him when he died, but even then I could feel his loss.

If he could effect someone who he didn’t even really know, I pray that those who were close have found comfort throughout the years.

During the school year of 2005-2006, my high school had five students die. Of those five, two were suicide, two were complications from surgery and one was a heart attack from a boy who had the heart of a 40-year-old at the age of 18. The following year, I have found, a new program was created for my alumni. It was called the Hope Squad and, I hope, is still running today to help the students, the teens, as they work through this part of their lives so that they can continue to the chapters of adulthood.

About martha0stout

I like to read and write and hang out with my family and friends. I currently live on a farm and all that such a living entails.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Didn’t Even Know Him That Well

  1. That is so sad! What a traumatic year for the school…that boy who helped you was almost like an angel…his purpose was to help you. What a moving post, Martha! The last year I taught at this private school, a teacher committed suicide and a Grade 11 student died after drinking and abusing cocaine. I thought that was too much. I hope that hope squad still exists at your old school, what a great idea.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

