Don’t Hide In the Harbor

How can I go on without reaching out
And never stretching to the top of my toes.
Right now I can’t stay huddled,
Buried in a pile of cotton to keep the cold away.
Only when I step out and feel the wind on my face,
Realizing that without risk there would be no gain.
 

Little something inspired by the third Monday prompt from Light and Shade Challenge.

A ship in port is safe, but that’s not what ships are built for.
–Grace Murray Hopper
About martha0stout

I like to read and write and hang out with my family and friends. I currently live on a farm and all that such a living entails.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Don’t Hide In the Harbor

  1. Much wisdom in this little piece, I like it very much. 🙂

    Like

  2. i b arora says:

    quite imaginative, i like the words “and feel the wind on my face” good one

    Like

  3. PsiFiGal says:

    This had a real feeling of briskness, reminded me of cold fall and winter mornings when you first step outside and that first breath is like a shock to your body. Absolutely beautiful. The Hopper quote was a perfect companion for the poem.

    Like

  4. I could feel your angst though and I braved the cold too this week and almost slipped and fell does NOT count:) I wore my cleats on my boots tonight and they are grrrrrreat!

    Like

Leave a Reply

