Truth Missed in the Flood

Both what I’m saying and how I’m looking confuse you
And that’s just what I want,
But remember that this is a smokescreen never to be dismissed.
Better to keep the fear all inside where no one else can see
Little by little I’ll let it out though no one will know but me
Especially as I spill it out with nonsensical words.
 
Deeds, not words shall speak me.
John Fletcher
 
A moment is gone
Can’t take back what wasn’t done.
There is more to life than what you hear
I handle more than I can bear.
Only my choices will make me who I am
Not going to live on the lam.
 

Partially inspired by a random moment in my life and the rest by the Shade and Light Challenge for the first Monday of the month.

About martha0stout

I like to read and write and hang out with my family and friends. I currently live on a farm and all that such a living entails.
This entry was posted in Writing Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Truth Missed in the Flood

  1. Awesome poem, I love it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

