Make It Into A Roll

In my senior year of high school I found myself constantly moving. I don’t actually remember sleeping all that much and yet the whole year is a blur of movement and half-awake moments. I had so many credits that I needed to make up for as I’d missed so much the year before. I had this belief that if I just kept moving even though I was stumbling along that even if I tripped my momentum would carry me forward and I’d manage to, somehow, finish it.

I know that I didn’t do it alone. There’s no way that I could do it by myself. I was very blessed to have help every single step of the way.

But that’s only part of why I am even writing this particular post.

I was reading through the Reader on here when I came across a new post from Seth Adam Smith, who has been MIA for several months while he worked on super secret projects. His post Is It Possible to Fall UP? made me think about such a thing where it has concerned me and that, in turn, made me think of the times (so many times) of when I would fall up the stairs rather than down them.

I fell down stairs a lot as a child. No that is not a euphemism, all those falls were legit. I was very spastic as a child though I was never diagnosed with anything, but we learned that I was sensitive to refined sugars.

As an adult, refined sugar makes me jump all over the place, literally, before I crash because I can no longer sustain such energy. This is after having one small piece of Halloween candy.

As a child, I would eat, at least, one full cup of sugar straight. Because it tasted good and what other reason does a kid need?

Yeah. I was continually on a sugar high for the majority of my childhood and early teens.

I have no idea how I survived all of the stupid things I’d try and do while I was like that.

Anyway, I fell down the stairs, and out of trees (and I jumped a few times trying to ‘fly’) a lot as a child. In high school I didn’t fall down the stairs even though I tripped a lot. No, because I had enough momentum to my body I fell UP the stairs instead.

It was hilarious and I always laughed about it at the time (and ignored bruises because I was just too tired to care.) But after reading that post by Seth and watching the embedded video (seriously, go watch it) I have found myself thinking about those moments in a different light and answering the question that Seth posed in his post title.

Is it possible to fall up?

Yes. Yes it is possible to fall up. It is possible to also teach yourself how to turn future falls into a roll that will see you standing up on your feet before the fall is even over.

Some of us will have more falls and more opportunities to learn that maneuver than others, but in the end we all want to learn this skill and continue to hone it throughout the years so that we never forget the feeling of the fall followed by the feeling of our feet back on the ground, safe and sound.

About martha0stout

I like to read and write and hang out with my family and friends. I currently live on a farm and all that such a living entails.
This entry was posted in Amnesiac's Journal, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Make It Into A Roll

  1. Cat says:

    What an amazing story on Seth’s blog

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cheryl-Lynn says:

    What a great post, Martha! How did you ever get so wise at your age?! The true meaning of life, I feel is acts of kindness…serving gives us such happiness.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

