The English Language – Random Ramblings

There are awards online for things that have terrible grammar, spelling, plots, you name it. I have found that some of the best stories I have read tend to be ones that have bad spelling or mixed up grammar however. They are genuinely well written so long as you ignore the formatting and/or spelling errors. It makes me wonder sometimes just how badly some of the great writers of old were in spelling. After all, Shakespeare created words that didn’t exist before, so if he’d had  a teacher that would throw away his work just because it was using words that ‘weren’t real’ then I don’t know if he’d have gotten that far.

This is just something that randomly struck me while I was reading one of the aforementioned stories that have errors in them that don’t detract from the plot at all.

About martha0stout

I like to read and write and hang out with my family and friends. I currently live on a farm and all that such a living entails.
This entry was posted in Amnesiac's Journal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The English Language – Random Ramblings

  1. Cat says:

    I am so paranoid about my grammatical errors. My spellchecker helps with my appalling record of spelling, but the gram’s down to me. I even thought about doing a basic gram class to try to improve writing

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

