Going Clean

She stood, her knees shaking

Her heart racing

Not sure of the reception

This was a bad conception!

Why had she come here?

To finally see clear?

No!

Go?

Her heart was so confused

It cried out, “Abused!”

With a like of her lips

With hopes for no slips

She spoke out her new edict

“I am a recovering sugar addict.”


This is what popped into my head when I saw the new Dungeon Prompt: I am a Recovering (fill in the blank). This is the kind of meeting that I should have gone to when I was first cut off from sugar as a teenager when we learned about my sensitivity to refined or simple sugars. In short, they make me act like I’m drunk or that’s the closest approximation that I’ve been given by my siblings.

About martha0stout

I like to read and write and hang out with my family and friends. I currently live on a farm and all that such a living entails.
This entry was posted in Writing Prompts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Going Clean

  1. Pingback: Dungeon Prompts: I Am a Recovering (fill in the blank) | The Seeker's Dungeon

  2. Sreejit Poole says:

    Nice one. That would be an interesting site, to see someone getting drunk off sugar. Not so fun for you though.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Suzanne says:

    Fantastic. I know exactly what you mean. Sugar has the weirdest effect on me too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Dungeon Prompts: Fear, How Do You Use It? | The Seeker's Dungeon

  5. Oh my, I need to work on my sugar…great post, Martha!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

