Puzzling

My sister’s eldest son, Tyler loves puzzles. He loves putting them together and figuring out what the picture looks line on each individual piece.

This is a step up from when he was a toddler and liked to dump all the pieces in all the boxes into one giant pile.

We watched him every morning for about six months or so (possible nine, it was a while ago). My mother and one of my other sisters would play with him and feed him and have all this fun with him (including the fun of giving up on stopping his Daily Puzzle Dump ‘n’ Mix). Whenever he started to get cranky or needed to go down for his nap, it was suddenly my turn to watch him. I just shrugged it off, settled him into my lap and sang to him absently (I was always tired and did anything absently that year) while I worked on my writing or reading or homework. He always fell to sleep within ten or so minutes (again, I don’t know how accurate that timing is as time didn’t really mean much of anything to me at the time.)

It was an enjoyable way to spend the day while his mother (then only with one child instead of her adventuresome five) worked as a music teacher at a school that was a few miles away in the valley, but only a short ten or fifteen minute drive away from our house.

I still remain one of the few in the family who is able to put a fussing baby to sleep even when they won’t go down for anyone else. My eldest nephew has informed me this is because I can be really boring at times.

On a side note, it’s been over five years later and we’re still trying to separate those puzzles from the Giant Puzzle Bag.IMAG2182

image: from martha0stout's phone

images: from martha0stout’s phone

We’re still missing pieces to this puzzle.

About martha0stout

I like to read and write and hang out with my family and friends. I currently live on a farm and all that such a living entails.
This entry was posted in Amnesiac's Journal, Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

