Loyalty to the Music – Eclectic Corner #13

IMAG1110

image: my sister playing the piano with her husband and child listening; from martha0stout’s phone

Practice makes progress. –my nephew’s t-shirt

Years passed, she grew her hair out, cut it off, bleached it and dyed it kelly green. The coloring grew out and she walked down the aisle of folding chairs towards a stage where she smiled and shook hands with her former principal and received the piece of rolled up paper that she’d worked long and hard to gain.

She applied for university and received admittance. Long days and even longer nights were spent in study and practice.

So much practice.

“Why did I decide to go into Music Education and become a band director again?”

Her roommate shrugged as she flipped another page in her textbook, “You know, I can’t remember. Probably because, out of all of your siblings, you were one of the few who loved learning instruments so much that you went from the piano to the violin to the cello to percussion and at that point, you might have wondered, ‘Well, why not learn them all?'”


This story is based on one of my sisters who did indeed learn most of the instruments that are spread throughout my family rather than just one or two like the rest of us. (She also did that thing with her hair, though I have no idea how it ended up in here.)

This was inspired by this month’s Eclectic Corner #13: Loyalty and yes, I did all three parts of the challenge at once again because that just seems to work best for me at the moment.

About martha0stout

I like to read and write and hang out with my family and friends. I currently live on a farm and all that such a living entails.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

