Where did the time go?

I look at them and wonder,

Just where did the time go?

Taller than me

I must look up

Just where did the time go?

Only one still smaller

Not for long, I know

Just where did the time go?

Growing older year and year

Always glad to see them grin

Just where did the time go?

Not my children

But I love them all the same

Just where did the time go?

Soon I won’t see them in school

Off to college and through the doors

Just where did the time go?

Not sure what’s in store for me

My life always so strange

Just where did the time go?

But I will always be there for them

Should they ever need me

Just where did the time go?

The time will go

Will turn and be gone

But they will be years well spent

As I watch and wonder…

Just where did the time go?

About martha0stout

I like to read and write and hang out with my family and friends. I currently live on a farm and all that such a living entails.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where did the time go?

  1. Suzanne says:

    I wonder the same thing. The young adults in your care will probably come back from time to time – mine do – but it’s never the same as when you are caring for them. All the best. It’s weird when they leave but the future slowly unfolds.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

