To Last – Thankful Thursday

Lately we’ve been receiving a lot of older things from my dad as he cleans out the basement of what was my Great Grandmother’s house. She died almost two decades ago, but we’re still cleaning out the house. It’s large and belongs to my dad’s cousin. He also lives there, because as already stated, the house is huge. They don’t make ‘em like that anymore. (The house was built in 1904.)

Today, my sister cleaned up and put back together an old wheat grinder that grinds by hand. It’s heavy because it’s made of wrought iron. We actually got two of them from my dad because he didn’t know if there were enough parts for only one of them to work again or not and wanted us to have all of the available parts. These things haven’t seen the light of day in something like 40 years from what I understand as Great Grandma didn’t used them anymore for a long time either.

Turns out, there are enough parts for both to work again once they’re all cleaned up (rust, the bane of all things iron). My mom is ecstatic (sort of) because she’s wanted us to have a hand grinder for something like my entire life. She and my sister were discussing it as Julia cleaned off the one and got it working again.

“Well, Mom, it’s not the latest model. Sorry.”

“That just means it’s going to last!” I called out from the living room.

“That’s because back then things were made to last.” My mom replied.

“Yeah,” I responded, “Planned obsolescence is a real pain.”

So I guess all I’m saying is that I’m grateful that my Great Grandma had things that were meant to last and that my dad held onto them for such a long time.

Check out the original Thankful Thursday. (Will update link when able.)

About martha0stout

I like to read and write and hang out with my family and friends. I currently live on a farm and all that such a living entails.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

