Butterflies

You saw I was alone
But wanted to make friends
You reached out a hand
And brought me more in the end

Struggling with my paces
I always was late
You didn’t leave me to wander
But brought me in, made me great

Frustrated with how I learned
You taught me what I needed
Didn’t let me give up
Desire for learning you seeded

Pulling your hair out over the class
Swinging from the ceiling
Still underneath them
You found me kneeling

With encouragement in your mouth
You never let me down
Even when I didn’t believe myself
You never let me want to frown

So many others pushed away
Their own important task
You didn’t do this, no way
You always told me just to ask

Each one of you I will remember
Knowing I could not do this alone
Though I do not know where now you wander
I will always feel where you have gone


Recently I came across a collection of different points in different peoples’ lives where they had teachers who held them back instead of helping them move forward. I have had teachers in the past just like that, who did not want to see those they thought less of succeed.

But for every one of those I’ve seen or met in my life (of which, there have been more than a few) I have also seen and known those teachers, those educators who went above and beyond what they were task.ed with doing in their line of work.

This poem is dedicated to all of those teachers and educators who saw children in their classrooms, in their schools and didn’t just do what they needed for their pay, but went above that and did what those children (what we) needed because they could and because they would.

There are those out there that look down on someone, for one reason or another, and do what they  can to make that person fail. But don’t forget that there are also those out there who see someone struggling and deciding that they are willing to be a part of the stepping stool that those students, those children need.

About martha0stout

I like to read and write and hang out with my family and friends. I currently live on a farm and all that such a living entails.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

