Pay Attention – SoC

We often find ourselves sitting and reading something, or maybe watching something. What are we reading? What are we watching? Are we using any kind of discernment in our choices? What kind of choices are we making?

How will what you watch impact you?

I sometimes find myself reading and not really remembering what I was even looking at. I don’t know the plot, I don’t know the characters and I don’t even know the name of the story I’m reading through. So why am I reading it? Because I don’t want to sit and stare at a wall, of course.

Although, if I’m not retaining any information from whatever it is I’m reading/watching, then how different is that from staring at a wall?

Is there any other point in what I’m doing? Probably not, I just want to do something for the sake of doing it even if that something isn’t something that I’m actively thinking about.

But am I really not absorbing anything?

I’ve found myself lost in plenty of books before, but to be lost in the sense that I don’t even know how I got to the point in that story that I look up and find myself in? That also, sadly, has been a common occurance in my life. Usually because I’m really too tired to be doing anything. In such a case, sometimes I wish someone would just come alone and shut the laptop in front of me, or the book cover or switch the t.v. off. Of course, this might snap me awake and not in a pleasant move.

“Why did you do that? I was watching/reading that!”

“Really? It looked like you were zombiefying yourself there and it wasn’t going to be pleasant when you randomly start reading it out loud and leave the rest of us to wonder where the brain that we know you had at some point in your life turned to such drivel.”

So I ask you, what is it that you wish to accomplish from reading when you’re not really even aware of what it is your holding in your hands?

Trying to keep yourself awake? Because it looks like your failing at that.

Maybe you should close your book/laptop/turn off the t.v. and get some actual sleep?


If it isn’t obvious yet, I’m tired after this week. Very tired.

Inspired by this Saturday’s Stream of Consciousness prompt. The rules:

  1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

  2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

  3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” or “Begin with the word ‘The’.”

  4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people will come and read your post! The way to ping back, is to just copy and paste the URL of my post somewhere on your post. Then your URL will show up in my comments, for everyone to see. For example, in your post you can copy and paste the following: This post is part of SoCS: http://lindaghill.wordpress.com/2014/07/25/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-july-2514/  The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top.

  5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

  6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

  7. Have fun!

7 thoughts on “Pay Attention – SoC

  1. At times like that I often find myself contemplating things that I really DO need to be thinking about. Sometimes background noise is just the thing to get my mind wrapped around something else. I do hate falling asleep in front of the tv though! 😛
    Thanks very much for participating this week, even through your tiredness. 🙂

    Like

    • I’ve found that sometimes I enjoy writing the most when I’m certain kinds of tired. It frees up whatever narrative is going through my head.

      This doesn’t work as often as I’d like, though.

      Thank you for stopping by. (*smiles back*)

      Like

  2. I’ve definitely done this; sometimes I continue reading or whatever else I’m doing simply to extend the “fun” of the experience, not recognizing that phase has passed and I should just go to bed. Other times, I’m trying to reach some self-imposed goal, like the end of a chapter. But why? I can pick up wherever I’ve left off, so it’s silly to force myself this way especially since when I do, I usually have to reread what I’d struggled to read when tired, anyway — defeating the purpose. Great post highlighting the silly things we do to ourselves at times!

    Like

    • I have that happen to me as well, or I think “I’ve come this far, I deserve to know the ending even if I don’t really like the story.” Sometimes it’s hard to know when to cut it off.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.