Ocean Dream – Poetry Prompt #17

I look out the window
And what do I see?
Blue waves breaking on the shore to see.
Summer has brought me such a nice surprise,
Seashell collecting under the skies.
 
I can take an arm full and make something neat,
Castles decorated and jewelry to last a week.
 
It wasn’t very so,
But it seemed to me,
Sunset in the ocean as far as I can see.

This is done to the tune of “Popcorn Popping” which is a Primary song from the Children’s Primary Songbook. The place that I would like to see is the ocean, in response to this week’s Poetry Prompt from WeDrink.

I have been to the West Coast and East Coast of the Continental U.S. but I have never seen an ocean.

9 thoughts on “Ocean Dream – Poetry Prompt #17

    • Thank you and no, never seen one outside of a video or picture. I hope to some day see it. Most of my siblings have seen one or both and they tell me that it is glorious. And cold, very very cold.

      Like

      • I will have to agree with them that it is indeed glorious, but this is coming from someone that was raised on a tiny island in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, lol. Believe me, the waters aren’t always cold.

        Like

  1. Beautiful and Vivid! I, too, have never seen the ocean and would love to see it, and I hope you do too and somehow it feels it will be even better than the expectations.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Poetry prompt #17 and #18 – Results | We Drink Because We're Poets

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.