Blooms in Life – Thankful Thursday

image: from martha0stout’s phone

My third eldest sister gave this plant to our mom a few years ago. Mom’s been having me water it religiously and even wanted to remind me to do it when she went into the hospital for surgery and was going to be there for a week. (Followed by a few weeks staying at the sister who gave this’s house as she lived closer to the hospital for post-op appointments before she could come all the way home. We live an hour and a half from the hospital she had to go to for the surgery.)

This is the first year that this plant has bloomed.

A single bloom that is beautiful not only for itself but for the years it’s taken to reach this point.

Life is like this, too, sometimes. We can work on something for years, never seeing the full fruits of our labors (other than the continued status quo). And then a moment comes where there’s a single moment of joy or beauty as a pay off before it slides back into the status quo.

But now you know that things don’t have to stay the same forever. There is going to be progress at some point. Just keeping going, just keep swimming, don’t give up.

This toil and labor isn’t without reward.

3 thoughts on “Blooms in Life – Thankful Thursday

  1. I also have a plant that looks like that, and also got it from my mom, who got it from my sister. I think it’s a peace plant. Mine hasn’t bloomed for years, and in fact, I think I nearly killed it with negligence. I believe it’s made a comeback, though, and I’m determined and more diligent at keeping it going. I would be thrilled if I got that bloom.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I didn’t know what kind of plant it was and hadn’t ever expected it to bloom. It was a wonderful surprise on a morning where it was blizzarding outside. It made my mom’s season.

      I hope that you’re able to get yours to bloom, it’s never too late. I almost killed it when my mom was in the hospital the first time (a different time from this last time) and I forgot to water it until the morning she was coming home! It had drooped over like it was going to die and I was really worried. That was almost a year ago now.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks. I hope it will bloom again too. I was pretty grateful when it became clear I hadn’t killed it. It’s down to two little green sections, but they look healthy.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.