New Life, Old Chains

image: Wiki Commons and used under the Creative Commons Agreement, taken by Tony Bowden in Tallinn, Estonia

 
Bygone days of leisure and pleasure
Right under your very nose is taken.
Or did you not lost it, but let it go?
Keeps you on your toes
Even when you think you’re at your sharpest.
Now it’s time to really set out and life your life.
 
Can you really live without a plan?
Has that plan ever really helped in the past?
As far as I’m concerned, no it hasn’t.
find that I’m more flexible than I thought.
Not even going to forget the price I paid for this.
So I shall face my future boldly.
 

This poem is dedicated to my mother. It is her birthday today and this kind of describes what I know about her from childhood to adulthood to grandmotherhood.

It was also partially inspired by the Light and Shade Challenge.

About martha0stout

I like to read and write and hang out with my family and friends. I currently live on a farm and all that such a living entails.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New Life, Old Chains

  1. Really great poem, it sounds like her life was not always easy.

    Like

  2. wandapsycho says:

    The light and shade challenge made me write a Dr. Who fan fiction mashup. I think you’d actually like the poem I wrote for OctPoWriMo better. It’s an acrostic too.
    http://poetryofthenetherworld.blogspot.com/2014/10/octpowrimo-2014-day-8.html

    Like

  3. Tara R. says:

    This poems has a lot of hope in it. That life is hard, but you still keep moving forward.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ashleyakagaoan says:

    I love the whole contemplation over needing to have a plan. I can relate to that feeling for sure. Great job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

