In-Laws – Thankful Thursday

This morning was very different for me. My younger sister and her husband are staying with us while we all go house searching the next two weeks or so. This morning was the first morning that they were with us in the morning. It was different to have an adult man in the house; we haven’t had one since my younger brother moved out several years ago and got an apartment. We didn’t have many during my childhood years as my parents divorced when I was in early grade school.

My grandfather lived with us for a year or so right before I went into middle school and again right after I graduated high school, but by then he was very old and sick and slept most of the time.

Having my brother-in-law here is a nice change. He’s very level-headed and good company and is very patient. He also adores his wife and it is very obvious. They haven’t been married quite a year just yet (this November will be their one year anniversary) but they click together really well. It’s not often that you see a well balanced couple, especially one that is still relatively new. Oh they have their ups and downs, just like everyone else, but in the end, they respect and care for one another just as much as they love one another. Their personalities also mesh very well together.

I am always very grateful for them bumping into one another at Wal-Mart a few years ago. I am also grateful for being friends with him and his sister when we were in grade school. The only people we still know from that time are them and my sister’s best friend, Ronnie (who was her Maid of Honor at the wedding.)

IMAG1171
image: from martha0stout’s phone

I am grateful for my sister and brother-in-law this morning.

Check out the original Thankful Thursday post for today: http://mithriluna.wordpress.com/2014/05/22/thankful-thursday-a-morning-escape/comment-page-1/#comment-2069

7 thoughts on “In-Laws – Thankful Thursday

  1. Pingback: Thankful Thursday: A Morning Escape | Momdeavor

  2. May their love and respect last for always. Thanks for sharing this lovely post. Is the new house for you, or them, or all of you?

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.